Dom 'Normal Looking Guy' Kubicki

Hey I'm Dom and somehow I managed to convince these two beauties to accompany me on this journey I thought of while I was bored at work a couple of years ago.  I'm 27, I grew up in the GTA, and graduated from the University of Alberta in 2011 with a degree in Mechanical Engineering.  For the past four years I've been a soldier in the Canadian Forces, working for the most part as a combat diver at Canadian Forces Base Petawawa in Ontario.  Follow us as we follow our hearts in their thirst for adventure. Keep it real and lots of love, Dom.

Dom's DR 650

My ride is a 2000 Suzuki DR650, which I nicknamed Babar the DR. It has been kitted out for long distance overland travel and is far from stock. I bought it used a couple of summers ago with roughly 16,000 km on the odometer. I've done all of the modifications myself and have learned a whole lot in the process. Upgrades include: 6.6 gallon fuel tank for extended range, fairing with HID headlights, upgraded rear shock, rebuilt fork with stiffer front springs, road and dirt friendly tires, upgraded seat, rear rack and saddlebag mounts, LED taillights and flashers, Keihin FCR-mx carb, upgraded muffler with airbox modification, oversized handlebars with upgraded switches, shorty style brake and clutch levers.


Ben 'Meat and Potatoes' Apedaile

My name is Ben and I've known Dom since 2013 when we did some army training together in New Brunswick. I'm 26 years old and I was born in Montreal, QC but grew up in Calgary, AB. I graduated from the Royal Military College of Canada in 2012 where I studied Civil Engineering and played on the Rugby team for four years. After RMC I served as an Engineer Officer in the Army Reserves until 2015. I currently work as a Water Resources Engineer in Calgary and have a passion for the outdoors. When Dom told me about this trip I didn't think I would be able to make it, but after piecing together the logistics it became a possibility... It's now a reality and I couldn't be happier to be riding across two continents with the Kubicki brothers on this adventure of a lifetime in support of providing education, health care and the opportunity for a better life to children in Ecuador and Nicaragua.

Ben's KLR 650

In July 2014 I bought my first bike, a 1997 Kawasaki KLR 650. 'Howie the Kawi' has 55,000 km under his belt and has become a true friend and reliable companion over the past two years. I have spent the winter and spring replacing some key parts such as brakes, rotors, sprockets, chain, tires, tubes, crash bars and skid plate, and flushing and replacing the fluids. Some KLR-specific modifications were also needed such as replacing the infamous KLR 'doohickey' and sub-frame bolts. I also kitted out the bike with a complete luggage system to serve as my home for the duration of the trip.


Tymek 'Big Cheesy' Kubicki

I'm Dom's younger brother Tymek (Tym for short) and I'm 21 years old. Born and raised in Mississauga, ON, I recently graduated from the Mechanical Engineering program at Queen's University. I've done a fair share of travelling in my short time on this Earth, including a cross-continental roadtrip to California, dive trips to the Caribbean Islands, skiing in the Canadian Rockies, and a month long backpacking adventure through Southeastern Europe. I was a competitive swimmer and flatwater sprint canoer throughout high school, started Crossfit in 2012 and switched my focus to Olympic Weightlifting in 2014. I'm currently loving the rip, living life on the road, exploring new terrain, and in the process helping out some deserving and developing communities. 

Tym's DR 650

After months of searching, I finally bought a 1996 DR 650. Nicknamed 'Suzie the Suzuki', I picked up this beautiful machine pretty much ready to ride across two continents. She already had a lot of the same modifications that Dom's bike has, including the FCR-mx carb, fairing, exhaust, and suspension. We hooked her up with some long-haul essentials, like a new front and back sprockets, a new chain, a 30 litre fuel tank, new air and fuel filters, and luggage racks, just to name a few. She is currently doing very well on the trek and I'm looking forward to spending the remainder of the trip on her back.